Coding for Sepsis, Severe Sepsis and Septic shock in ICD 10

There is very much difference in coding for Sepsis in ICD 9 and ICD10 guideline. For coding sepsis in ICD 10, we can use single code for causal organism with sepsis. Therefore, here we do not have code for causal organism and Sepsis separately; we have combine code for both. If the causal organism is specified, we have an unspecified code as well. For example:
Streptococcal sepsis, unspecified we can code A40.9 directly.
Only Sepsis unspecified organism, we can code A41.9 directly.
Coding for Sepsis, Severe Sepsis and Septic shock in ICD 10

CPC Practice Exam - Medical Coding Study Guide Please Click Here!

Coding for Severe sepsis in ICD 10

For Severe sepsis, we can use maximum 3 ICD 10 codes. Severe sepsis requires a primary diagnosis for the causal organism and then the severe sepsis ICD 10 code. If the organism is unspecified we can assign A41.9, Sepsis NOS directly as primary diagnosis, followed by a code from subcategory R65.2, for severe sepsis. Additional code are also assigned to specify acute organ dysfunction like renal failure, respiratory failure etc. These tips are really important for Certification exams like CPC, you can go through sample CPC questions here which is surely help in clearing CPC exam.

Coding for Septic shock in ICD 10

For septic shock coding, we have to follow severe sepsis guideline. However, while coding from subcategory R65.2, we have to choose R65.21 for coding severe sepsis with septic shock. Additional code can be added to specify the type of organ dysfunction present due to severe sepsis. Code from category T81.12- can also be used for coding post-procedural septic shock.

Share this

Related Posts

Next Post »